To register to vote in federal, state, and county elections, a person must be at least 18 years old, a U.S. citizen, and a resident of the state. Registration is permitted up until 29 days before an election, 10 days after a primary or special election, and 15 days after a general election. You can register in person at the elections office in your county of residence or in Baltimore City. You can also download or pick up the voter registration application and complete the form using the provided instructions. Voter registration applications are available at any office of the State Department of Health, Social Services Administration, Motor Vehicle Administration, Offices on Aging, all public institutions of higher education, and many other state agencies. You can also call the Board of Elections on its 24-hour, toll-free line at 800-222-8683 and leave your name and mailing address.

All applications must be signed and returned to your county Board of Elections or to the Maryland State Board of Elections. If you want to change your party affiliation after you are registered, you will need to submit a new voter registration application or a signed written request to your county Board of Elections. Every registered voter receives a specimen ballot in the mail approximately five to ten days before the election.

Registration is permanent, as long as you continue to live within the jurisdiction, keep your address current with the election board, and do not let five years pass without voting. Residents can request more information or answers to questions about elections and voting from the Maryland State Board of Elections. The SBE maintains many online functions including a voter registration form that can be printed out. The Board of Elections offices on the county level are another excellent source of information.

Maryland State Board of Elections
Annapolis 410-269-2840
Toll Free 800-222-8683

Anne Arundel County
P.O. Box 490
Glen Burnie, MD 21060

Baltimore City
417 E. Fayette Street
Baltimore, MD 21202

Baltimore County
106 Bloomsbury Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21228

Carroll County
225 N. Center Street
Westminster, MD 21157

Harford County
18 Office Street
Bel Air, MD 21014

Howard County
8900 Columbia 100 Parkway
Columbia, MD 21045

Prince George’s County
14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772

Political Organizations

Democratic National Committee

Maryland Democratic Party

Republican National Committee

Republican Party of Maryland

The National League of Women Voters

The Maryland League of Women Voters

Search by List

Search by a list of area regions or city names.


Search by Map

Use our interactive map to find your community