TRANSPORTATION / MOTOR VEHICLE INFORMATION

Driver’s License

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier 802-828-2000
http://dmv.vermont.gov

You must obtain a Vermont Driver License upon establishing residency in this state.  This must be done no longer than 60 days after moving to Vermont or, if your out-of-state license expires before the end of this 60-day period, you must obtain a Vermont Driver License before it expires (whichever occurs first).

To obtain a license, Vermont law requires that out of state applicants must pass a vision test. The road test and written test may be waived by the examiner if the applicant holds a valid out-of-state license. Vermont Driver’s manuals and license applications are available at all Department of Motor Vehicle offices.

If you have a valid license in another state but can’t find the license you must provide your license number and the expiration date of the license to the Vermont DMV so that we can verify the status of your license in the other state. If you can’t provide that information you must apply for a duplicate license in the other state (or otherwise provide proof of a valid license in that state).

An individual 15 years of age or older my operate a motor vehicle if they hold a valid learner’s permit and are and are accompanied by one of the following: A licensed and unimpaired parent or guardian, a licensed or certified and unimpaired driver education instructor, or a license and unimpaired individual who is at least 25 years of age.

 

Vehicle Registration

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier 802-828-2000
http://dmv.vermont.gov

You must obtain a Vermont vehicle registration upon establishing residency in this state.  This must be done no longer than 60 days after moving to Vermont or if your out-of-state vehicle registration expires before the end of this 60-day period you must obtain a Vermont vehicle registration before it expires (whichever occurs first).  Two facts that you should be aware of when registering a vehicle in Vermont are; All vehicles must have liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than the statutory minimums. Upon registering your vehicle you will have 15 days in which to get the vehicle inspected at a Vermont Licensed Inspection Station.

DMV Locations
http://dmv.vermont.gov/locations

Search by List

Search by a list of area regions or city names.

 

Search by Map

Use our interactive map to find your community