Drivers License
New residents who operate a motor vehicle or motorcycle on public streets and highways are given 90 days to apply for a Colorado driver’s license. Driver licenses, instruction permits, and Colorado identification cards can be obtained at convenient statewide offices. Adult driver licenses are issued to persons who are at least 21 years of age and must be renewed every five years. Anyone relocating to Colorado and surrendering a valid driver license from another state is not required to take a written test. However, a second primary form of identification such as a birth certificate, valid passport, or immigration document must be presented along with the driver license. The license from the other state must not have expired for more than one year. In addition to passing a vision screening test or any other required exams for your situation, you must provide your social security number and a Colorado address, pay the required fee, and be fingerprinted and photographed. For complete information on drivers licenses or answers to specific questions, contact:

Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Department of Revenue
Drivers Licenses

DMV Driver License Offices Directory

Office Locations:

Colorado Springs
4420 Austin Bluffs Parkway
Colorado Springs 719-594-8701

Colorado Springs
200 S. Cascade Avenue
Colorado Springs 719-520-6240

Colorado Springs
Chapel Hills Shopping Center
1710 Briargate Boulevard
Colorado Springs 719-520-6240

Colorado Springs
5650 Industrial Place
Colorado Springs 719-520-6240

Vehicle Registration & Title
New Colorado residents must title and register their vehicles within 30 days of establishing residency, and applications for titles and license plates are processed at the motor vehicle office in your county of residence. Vehicle registration and titling are two separate documents, although application for both are accomplished in one process. Fees are based on the vehicle weight, age, and taxable value. Visit your county clerk or nearest motor vehicle service with your out-of-state title and current registration along with a current and accurate odometer reading, VIN verification, and proof of insurance. If a lien exits on an out of state title, the lienholder’s name and address must be provided if not shown on the out of state title or registration. Residents of select metropolitan counties must also bring proof of successful emissions testing. For further information or answers to specific questions, contact:

Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles
Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Registration
Motor Vehicle Titles

DMV Registration & Titling Offices

Vehicle Emission Testing
Colorado state law requires that vehicles owned by residents of Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Denver, Douglas, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Pitkin, and Weld counties be emissions tested. The enhanced test fee is $25 for vehicles 1982 and newer, while a simpler test is administered for $15 on vehicles 1981 and older. Payment may be made by cash or check but not credit card. For details on inspection, test station locations, and other information, contact:

Air Care Colorado

Mandatory Insurance
Proof of vehicle insurance in state-mandated minimums for liability must be provided to your county clerk and recorder before vehicle registration can occur. Each month, insurance companies must inform the Colorado Motor Vehicle Registration Division of lapsed or cancelled policies. Insurance proof can take the form of an insurance card, a copy of your insurance policy, or an official verification letter from the insurance company. For questions about insurance coverage, contact:

Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Department of Revenue

Colorado Safety Laws

Seat Belts
Colorado enforces a seat-belt law that requires the driver and all front-seat passengers to wear properly installed and fastened restraints at all times. Graduated driver license holders are responsible for using a seat belt and ensuring that all passengers use them as well. Drivers under age 17 are restricted to one passenger in the front seat and they may have only as many rear-seat passengers as seat-belt positions.

Child Safety
The Child Passenger Law makes the driver responsible for buckling up and property restraining young passengers regardless of where they are seated in the vehicle. Infants must ride in a rear-facing child safety seat until they are at least one year old and weight at least 20 pounds. Children ages one to four years who weigh 20-40 pounds must be restrained in a forward-facing child safety seat. Children who weigh over 40 pounds or who are at least four years old but less than six years old must be properly restrained in a child booster seat or with a child safety-belt positioning device unless they are 55 inches tall. Children who are at least six years old or at least 55 inches tall must be property restrained with a safety belt. For complete details or answers to questions, contact:

Colorado Child Passenger Safety
CPS Team Colorado
Colorado State Patrol

Search by List

Search by a list of area regions or city names.

Search by Map

Use our interactive map to find your community