Drivers License
New residents of Pennsylvania must obtain a driver’s license within 60 days after establishing residency. Applicants holding a valid license from another state must pass a vision test in order to obtain a license. If an out-of-state driver’s license has expired over six months, Pennsylvania requires an application for a learner’s permit and complete testing. Out-of-state licenses must be surrendered before you can be issued a Pennsylvania license. The state has strengthened the requirements for young drivers, so those under the age of 18 who hold an out-of-state license may need to meet additional requirements or provide additional documentation. When applying for a drivers license, bring your social security card, valid out-of-state license, vehicle registration, proof of insurance, and your official birth certificate. Locations of testing centers are listed in the blue pages of the local phone book but are also available by telephone or online. For more information or answers to specific questions, contact:

Driver & Vehicle Services

Automobile Insurance
Pennsylvania requires minimum insurance coverage for medical benefits, bodily injury liability, and property damage. For more information about insurance requirements in Pennsylvania and the online list of companies that are licensed to sell automobile insurance in Pennsylvania, contact:

State Department of Insurance

Vehicle Registration
New residents of Pennsylvania must obtain a new vehicle registration within 20 days of establishing residency. Temporary registrations are available at the nearest License Tag Agency, listed under “License” in the yellow pages. Documentation that will be needed include your out-of-state title and registration, vehicle identification number, proof of insurance, current odometer reading, payment of applicable fees, and proof that taxes were paid for new vehicles. If you hold a valid title issued in another state and have owned your vehicle at least six months before moving to Pennsylvania, no sales tax is due. For vehicles owned less than six months, sales tax is due on the negative difference between Pennsylvania tax and any sales tax paid to another state.

Inspection & Emissions Testing
Newly registered vehicles must undergo a safety inspection within 10 days of the registration date at an official inspection station. An emissions inspection is also required in many areas. For complete information on requirements and procedures, contact:

Vehicle Emissions & Inspection

Seat-Belt & Child Safety Laws
Pennsylvania is serious about seat-belt usage, evidenced by the “Click it or ticket” campaign. Passengers from 8 to 17 years of age in the front seat must be securely buckled at all times. Infants and small children must be secured in a federally approved child-restraint system, and those from ages four through eight years of age must also be secured in an approved child-restraint or booster system approved for their age and weight. Positioning children in the back seat is recommended. The seat-belt and child safety-seat regulations are primary law, which means that a driver can be stopped and ticketed on the basis of a violation.

Search by List

Search by a list of area regions or city names.


Search by Map

Use our interactive map to find your community